The ABCs of Telemedicine

Fair Market Value

PRESENTED MARCH 7, 2019 - 1:00PM EST / 11:00AM MST
HA-logo_2019_new_website-01-1  ata-tm-color-logo@2x



In 2018, the federal government adopted a wide range of policies to cement telemedicine as an integral modality of healthcare. With increased opportunities for reimbursement from Medicare comes greater government scrutiny of the efforts of telemedicine companies to comply with key healthcare regulations. An essential element of this scrutiny is demonstrating compliance with regulations and statutes intended to combat healthcare fraud and abuse. This webinar seeks to educate the industry operators regarding the basics of fair market value (FMV) opinions. It also serves as a guide to familiarize telemedicine operators and health systems with the valuation process.

Luis A. Argueso
Partner, HealthCare Appraisers
Luis A. Argueso is a director in the HealthCare Appraisers' Colorado office, where his practice involves the appraisal of healthcare businesses and the valuation of healthcare provider compensation relationships. He specializes in the valuation of compensation arrangements between hospitals and medical groups which staff and medically direct hospital-based service lines including: anesthesiology, emergency, hospitalists, and radiology departments. He provides litigation support services for healthcare entities and consults with clients on improving the efficiency, quality, and compliance of hospital-based service arrangements, and in the analysis of the economic impact of healthcare businesses. He holds a Bachelor's degree in Economics from Princeton University.
Kevin Cassell
Senior Associate, HealthCare Appraisers

Mr. Cassell is a Senior Associate in the Firm’s Colorado office where he assists in a wide variety of projects, including the analysis of healthcare provider compensation valuation and business valuation. Mr. Cassell received a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Corporate Finance as well as a Bachelor of Arts degree in German from Colorado State University.